Texting to an iPod Touch

On Mon, Apr 11, 2011 at 2:28 PM, Matthew wrote:

Could you easily get me more information on how to set up a way for kids to text my iPod?  I'd love to get that up and running before we start the projects.

Three options with comment:
  • Google Voice - A lot of really cool features but I had to wait for a number (a couple of weeks at the time) and the iPod touch interface is Google (in other words very practical).
  • TextNow - Awesome iPod Touch interface but costs money to get a number. Kids have to text to an email address (something like mrfalk@textnow.me) instead of a number. They will not like this and not all cell plans support it (notable Net10, a common carrier for kids whose parents do not pay the bills).
  • TextFree with Voice - iPod Touch interface is as good as TextNow, but no iPad interface so it is clunky if you ever get an iPad. Numbers are free although there were not any local numbers when I signed up. Instead mine is a Traverse City number. Free incoming voice calls to your iPod Touch on the number you get which allows kids to call if they need to. If calls are short this works great.
For just trying everything out and making it go smoothly and because you will probably not get an iPad in the next month and a half I would definitely recommend Text Free with Voice.

Matt knows that I tell students in my class to go where they need to to get their work done, but they have to text before they go. Even teachers who do not want to give our their cell number can do this. I tell students my TextFree number and they text me three things in this order.

  1. The name of the student texting
  2. The group members with the students who texted.
  3. The on campus location where they are going to be working.
I then have a handy pocket list of where every student is when we are doing any ind of work that requires being out of the room. About the third day of using this system the principal wanted someone and I looked down at my iPod and in five seconds told him where the student was. The student was right where the text said and everyone was happy.
2 responses
My two cents:

I personally have been using Google Voice on my Android phone for about a year now. It has a easy-to-use interface, instant notifications, your own phone number, and it's all free. There is also a website interface at voice.google.com that allows you to read and respond to texts right there (as well as manage your calls if you make it your primary number).

I do love the web interface, thanks for the comment.